Settlement Reached in Regional Standards Lawsuit (cont.)

With the filing of this week's settlement of the Regional Standards lawsuit, a few questions have arisen regarding what the settlement will mean.

What will the Central Air-Conditioning Standard be in the South and Southwest?

On January 1, 2015 the efficiency standard for central air-conditioners in the South will be 14-SEER. In the Southwest, that standard will be 14 SEER and 12.2 EER for systems smaller than 45,000 Btu, and 14 SEER and 11.7 EER for systems larger than 45,000 Btu.

What about the heat pump standard?

As of Jan. 1, 2015, national efficiency standards will be 14 SEER and 8.2 HSPF for split-system heat pumps; 14 SEER and 8.0 HSPF for single-package heat pumps; 13 SEER and 7.7 HSPF for small duct, high velocity systems; 12 SEER for space-constrained air conditioners; and 12 SEER and 7.4 EER for space-constrained heat pumps.

Will there be an 18-month sell through for heat pumps?

Because heat pumps have a base national standard (and no regional standard), a distributor will not be limited in the amount of time it takes to fully deplete inventory of heat pumps manufactured prior to January 1, 2015.


Popular posts from this blog

What does N plus 1 in HVAC mean?

New National and Regional Minimum Efficiencies

Regional Standards Settlement Approved by Court